Side Streets in Chicago

Poem: September’s Apprehension

The dark is coming,
The smaller world of winter.
Drawn in around the limits of my sight,
Gathered close, shadows bind my paths.

Moving from boxed world to boxed world,
Work and train and home and back again,
Fleeting glimpses of the setting sun
Remind me of lost landscapes, hidden now.

To face the dark, go out beyond the visible
Takes much more trying, time and thought:
Layers of defense to mummify me, protect
In short days grown hostile to human frailty.

My mind draws inward, travelling alone
Down the pages of old friends, books lining my walls:
Imagination insulates from boredom and reproach
Against this all too natural annual return.

Bundled safe, beneath these covers
My world condensed, enlarged
I choose my bounds, escape the limits
Of light delineating life.

Leave a Reply

